March 2, 2010

I’m Idaho!

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 10:56 am by Pam

I’m a big Simpsons fan – have been since the beginning. Back in 1989, my brother was home from college for Christmas, and we watched the then-new show together. (Years later, I watched reruns of the Tracy Ullman show all the time and loved the original Simpsons shorts.) The Simpsons are so ingrained in my upbringing – quotes, sight gags, situations – that I can tell when I’m talking to someone who hasn’t watched the show much because they can’t follow what I’m saying. Did I mention that I taught a class on the show (not once but twice) while I was in college?

Anyway, Ralph Wiggum has always been one of my favorite parts of the show. I even quoted him in my high school yearbook (“Go banana!”). He’s such a misfit, and I just love him.

After my first little embroidery kit from Michaels, filled with stem stitch and satin stitch that never came out quite right, I was a bit scared of those two stitches. I decided to grab my fear by the horns and do a piece entirely in satin stitch. I didn’t master the technique with Ralph here, but I got a much firmer grasp on the concept. It doesn’t scare me quite so much anymore.

3 Comments »

  1. [...] I’m Idaho! – Awesome piece of fan art here.  It’s an embroidered Ralph as he appeared at the geography pageant.  This is as fan-fugu-tastic as fan art comes.  [...]

  2. [...] “I’m Idaho!” [...]

  3. michaelmunnik said,

    Hi – loved your embroidery! I linked to it with a pic in a very loosely related blog about making fake Oreos for my kids’ teachers at Christmas. If you want me to remove it, just drop me a note.

    http://anearthwithoutgrammar.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/im-idaho-or-practice-these-before-giving-them-as-gifts/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

