March 6, 2010

Helping people, hunting things – the family business

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 3:24 pm by Pam

While down with the flu back in December, I had the chance to watch all four and a half seasons of Supernatural in one go. I didn’t watch the show when it first started because it just didn’t look that good, and it started before I got a life-changing DVR. A few of my friends, however, are terribly obsessed over it, to the point where it has invaded their everyday conversations. They were in the midst of telling me how it’s one of the best shows on television right now (I now concur with them completely) when I thought I might as well start watching.

If you’ve watched the show, you’ll recognize the phrase “Helping people, hunting things – the family business” because, well, that is the business that the Winchester boys are in. As in, they are helping people inflicted by demons or other supernatural problems and hunting said demons. Oh, sure, the later seasons become a bit existential over free will and the possible apocalypse, but Dean and Sam never stop helping people and hunting things.

The symbol I chose to go with the line is the tattoo that the boys both have on their chests, which they got to protect themselves from possession.

I ended up making two of these (for my two Supernatural-obsessed friends) and turning them into little cosmetic/pencil bags. When I started these, I didn’t know much about choosing fabrics, and I was terrible at many fill stitches, so I chose to go with a whipped back stitch for the design and a split stitch for the lettering. I’m not terribly happy with either, but they’re better than when I started, so at least I’m learning. I hated using this fabric though, but now that I know more about using interfacing, I might be less hesitant to use it again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

