April 13, 2010

Putting Those Old Books To Good Use

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 1:55 pm by Pam

I’m a librarian (or, at least, so says my degree), and I’ve always loved books. I have a hard time parting with books, even ones that I flat out hate. When I do get rid of them, I try to at least sell them to a used book store, but they never accept them all, and I’m left with the worst of the ones I already hate. Those could easily go into the recycling bin, but why not get creative with them?

When I saw this post on Living with Lindsay last fall, I knew I had found a use for those books. It took me months to get myself in gear, however. I painted the edges of the book with some gold paint, and then proceeded to leave it to dry for roughly a month. One night out of the blue, however, I got a hankering to work on the wreath, and with some company from my DVR, I polished this project off in just a few hours.


Lindsay’s instructions are pretty straight-forward, so the only advice I can offer is to find your least favorite book on your shelf and get to work right away. I recently cleaned out my library and found a whole stack of things I don’t want – time to get to work!

3 Comments »

  1. I just bumped into your fantastic photo and fell in love with it instantly.
    We have a bookstore in Guatemala and wonder whether you would be so kind as to let us use it for the design of our shop bags.
    Thank you so much in advance for your kind response.

  2. Isabella said,

    Hi Pam,

    I am working on a not for profit book project. Would you allow me to use your image on the cover of the book? You will be given credit as the creator of the image, and (if possible) I will try and get them to print your website on the book as well.

    I feel a bit embarrassed that I can’t offer you anything of monetary value, but I could perhaps send you something on your Amazon wish-list as a thank you?

    Thanks,
    Isabella

  3. […] sursa foto: aici […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

