January 23, 2012

I’m Ready for the Zombies!

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 10:27 am by Pam

I might have mentioned this when talking about the Supernatural dolls, but I have the best (and most creative) friends. Thus far, I’ve always been on the creative end of our weird gift sets, but this Christmas, I found myself in possession of my very own zombie preparedness kit! My friends went all out to A) protect me from future undead threats and B) make me laugh and howl in joy. I’m happy to say that this worked on both accounts.

The majority of the gift had to do with zombie preparedness.  Here is my new (albeit blood-spattered) survival pack (this might have to be the bag I take to PAX with me this year), filled with necessities like a first aid kit, lighter fluid, spam, Vitamin Water, flashlight, 50 feet of cord (wrapped up nicely as the red and black bracelet), Swiss army knife, extra band aids, grenade-shaped stress ball (the apocalypse is bound to be stressful, after all), an inflatable brain (so I can throw it at any encroaching zombies and make my escape), astronaut ice cream, and the currency of the future: Twinkies. Also included was a map of my town with important spots, like gas stations, drug stores, etc marked out. I’m good to go now.

Then there’s this gorgeous journal – a chomped-on brain and crossed shotguns on the front, and the Cherokee rose (state flower of Georgia and also the title of an episode from season 2 of The Walking Dead) on the back. The edges are beaten and burned for authenticity. The inside is filled with things like zombie survival rules and references to countless zombie movies and tv shows.

And then there is the weaponry. Not only did they provide me with a katana (a replica of the Bride’s sword from Kill Bill) as well as a wooden practice katana (gotta get my training in), they also steampunked a Nerf gun for me. Perhaps the most twisted of the bunch had her father help her drive nails through a baseball bat so I’d have the most primitive of zombie-fighting tools. I’m a little weirded out knowing that I now own a bloody baseball bat with nails, but it’s pretty damn awesome at the same time.

On the more artsy and less preparedness side of things, the kit included two zombie tshirts, two zombie necklaces (one with the picture of a zombie nurse, the other a brain-shaped locket), a stack of zombie movies (most of which I’d never heard of), a book on how to speak zombie, a gorgeous framed zombie PSA, and some Walking Dead souvenirs. Seriously awesome, every inch of it!

2 Comments »

  1. Kelly said,

    Amazing stuff and awesome friends!! :: jealous :: I love the Nerf gun! I have that same model…just might have to steampunk mine out. Ooo a purple Swiss Army Knife :D Knitting needles are a good thing to carry as well: http://tinyurl.com/7hpjagm (Walking Dead comic).

  2. […] my group of friends has a knack for wacky gifts. We’ve had the Supernatural dolls and the zombie kit (among others). So when Melody said “I don’t want anything for my birthday. Well, I […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

