February 14, 2012

Valentine Craft Swap

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 3:31 pm by Pam

When I signed up for the Oh Strumpets Valentine’s Day Craft Swap, I couldn’t have imagined that I would be paired with one of the coolest, sweetest nerds on the internet – Kelly of Craftlockian.  We bonded in emails over nerdy/geeky things like books, video games, and of course, crafts. For the swap, Kelly made me these gorgeous fingerless gloves (in my favorite color, of course!) and an adorable heart pin. Since we’re both gamer girls, I thought it would only be fitting to declare these my gaming gloves, because my hands get way too cold when using my xbox controller.

In our emails, Kelly told me about her love for all things Sherlock Holmes. That made it pretty easy for me to pick an idea :) I skimmed through some of the old Sherlock books at my bookstore and really loved the original illustrations that went with them. This particular illustration is from The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle (with modifications, of course, to make it Valentines-y). I liked that the two men were so puzzled over what they were looking at on the chair. I hope Kelly likes it!

The embroidery is done in back stitch, French knots, and satin stitch (with a little added lace), black and red on ivory cotton.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

