March 2, 2010

I’ll Eat You Up I Love You So

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 11:24 am by Pam

My parents have three kids and three grandkids – they’ve read a children’s book or two in their days. My mother has always said that Where the Wild Things Are is her favorite, especially the line “I’ll eat you up, I love you so.” When the movie came out this year, our family was firmly divided – about half of us really liked it, while the other half (including my mother) thought it was awful. For her birthday last December, then, I thought I’d try to take that sour taste out of her mouth with something from the original book.

As December rolled around, I found myself struck with a mild case of the swine flu and no desire to leave the couch. Perfect time for some stitching, no? So I settled in with plenty of fluids, 4 seasons of Supernatural on DVD, and a plan. Just a few days later, I had finished stitching this design. I couldn’t be happier with how it came out. It’s done almost entirely in back stitch, with some straight stitch on the tail.

I ended up sewing this into a pillow, and it matches the couch perfectly. The back is a deep blue stretchy crushed velvet. It’s sewed on in two panels, overlapping at the middle, for easy access to the pillow itself. I’m not so good at sewing things shut, so I thought this was a good way of making it look a little more polished.

9 Comments »

  1. [...] in Uncategorized at 3:24 pm by paghababian While down with the flu back in December, I had the chance to watch all four and a half seasons of Supernatural in one go. I didn’t [...]

  2. Annabelle B said,

    I LOVE this so much! Me likey! Me wanty!

  3. Kim said,

    I really love this!
    you should make more to sell. I’d definitely buy one!

  4. Pam said,

    Thanks, Kim! I’ve been trying to figure out designs that people would like and also wouldn’t take forever to make (thus making them wicked expensive), and it’s good to know there’s some interest in this.

  5. Kim E. said,

    Oh, no problem!
    This is my favourite quote from that book. I’d really love a pillow like this!
    If you didn’t want to replicate this pillow (since I assume it was made special for your mother), maybe a different design but the same quote?
    I really would like to buy one.

  6. Katharina said,

    I will buy one of these!! I would love one!

  7. [...] check out the person’s blog who created this genius idea! [...]

  8. David said,

    Ill pay as much as you want if you make me one of these. You can contact me at jdavidmarkham@sbcglobal.net

  9. Casandra said,

    Hi! I have been in love with this since I saw it over a year ago on weheartit.com. I haven’t been able to find anything remotely as cute as this! Would you be willing to make another? I would *love* one!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

