August 18, 2010

What’s With All the Screaming?

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 12:27 pm by Pam


When Sublime Stitching first announced their Combo Contest, in which participants had to combine three or more Sublime Stitching patterns, I knew I wanted to take part. I spent a good deal of time thinking about what patterns to use and how they could be combined into a coherent picture, but I kept coming up with exactly nothing. I put the idea away and moved on with my life.

But then one day, as I was listening to some Jonathan Coulton, the idea finally came to me. Coulton’s song Skullcrusher Mountain is about an evil villain, talking to his girlfriend (read: a girl who he is keeping captive in his lair). In the second verse, he describes a gift he has so lovingly crafted for her: “I made this half-pony half-monkey monster to please you, but I get the feeling that you don’t like it. What’s with all the screaming? You like monkeys, you like ponies. Maybe you don’t like monsters so much. Maybe I used too many monkeys. Isn’t it enough to know that I ruined a pony making a gift for you?”

Monkeys, ponies… these are things that Sublime Stitching has patterns for (kind of), I thought. I ended up using the Unicorn Believer, Monkey Love, and Craftopia patterns. It took a little while to get the patterns to fit together, but once they did, I was extremely happy with the outcome.

I crayon tinted the fabric so I could just focus on the outlines. I used back stitch, outline stitch, split stitch, and French knots.

Edit: Great minds think alike! The wonderful Beefranck also recently made a Skullcrusher Mountain piece, and it’s amazing!

1 Comment »

  1. […] Ann’s birthday rolled around and it was time for me to embroider her gift (last year she got this), she tossed out the idea of “Cake or Death,” a bit from Izzard’s Dress to Kill. […]


Leave a Reply

