October 9, 2011

Z is for Zillah

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 9:13 am by Pam

Ever since I finished my N is for Neville piece over a year ago, I’ve been wanting to embroider more of Edward Gorey‘s Gashlycrumb Tinies. I immediately decided on my second favorite part of the Gashlycrumb Tinies, Z is for Zillah, simplified the drawing to make it easier to stitch, then promptly forgot about it.

And then, about a week ago, a former teacher and current internet friend informed me that Panopticon, the art libraries interest group I co-chaired during my time at Simmons GSLIS, was looking for submissions for their art show. I emailed a few pieces over to the coordinator, and she said she especially like my Neville. I thought a matching pair would look so much better than a couple of mismatched pieces, so I jumped into production on the Zillah piece and managed to stitch it in only a couple of days. Much like my Neville piece, I started stitching at Starbucks, where no one except one little kid looked at me twice.

I won’t be able to make the exhibit opening next week, but I hope to stop by the next time I’m near Simmons to take a peek. The exhibit will be up until the end of the spring semester and is in the GSLIS Tech Lab. Maybe there’ll be some pictures on the Panopticon site.

This project also served as a nice reminder to work on short projects every now and again. Right now, I’m in the middle of two fairly large projects, and I vacillate between procrastinating on one and procrastinating on the other. Banging out this piece in a few short hours gave me the sense of accomplishment that I needed, and now I’m feeling slightly better about those other two pieces.

Oh, and I also taught myself the scroll stitch for the design on the wall. Yay for learning new stitches!

Leave a Reply

